Underwood-Miller Publishing Archive of Philip K. Dick

Identity elements

Reference code

US TxAM-C C000304

Level of description



Underwood-Miller Publishing Archive of Philip K. Dick


  • 1938-2017 (Creation)


3 Boxes

Name of creator


Biographical history

Philip K. Dick (1928-12-16-1982-03-02) is one of the major voices of American 20th-century science fiction. Born in Chicago, Dick spent most of his life in California. Like so many giants of the genre, Dick began his career in the pulp magazine market - his first SF stories appeared in Planet Stories in 1952, and in 1955 he published his first novel, Solar Lottery as one-half of an Ace paperback double. (Although Solar Lottery was Dick's first published SF novel, he wrote several earlier in his life that was published later, including The Cosmic Puppets, Vulcan's Hammer, and Dr. Futurity.

Whether early or late in Dick's career, his works are marked by particular themes such as metaphysical philosophy, alternate worlds and realities, shifts in identity and consciousness, and nations or worlds ruled by authoritarian governments or all-powerful corporations. Dick himself once declared as a major and recurring theme of his to be the question, "What constitutes the authentic human being?"

Though reasonably well-known in his early career, Dick achieved major fame in 1963 when his 1961 novel The Man In The High Castle won the 1963 Hugo Award for Best Novel. The book is a chilling dystopia set in the United States after the Axis Powers have won World War II, and is regarded as one of the greatest alternate history stories yet written. Over the next two decades, Dick produced a number of other famous novels, including Martian Time-Slip (1962), The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch (1965, Nebula Award nominee), Counter-Clock World (1967), Ubik (1969), Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said (1970, Hugo and Nebula Award nominee), A Scanner Darkly (1977, BSFA Winner), and Radio Free Albemuth (1985).

Perhaps Dick's most famous novel is the post-apocalyptic Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep? (1968), which tells the story of bounty hunter Rick Deckard. Deckard's job is to hunt down and 'retire' escaped androids, and the novel explores Deckard's exploration of what it means to be truly human. The book was adapted into the 1982 film Blade Runner.

In 1974, Dick experienced a number of visions, hallucinations, and mystical encounters, which affected his thought and fiction for the rest of his life. He began keeping a journal of his opinions about the origins of these experiences, which later became known as the Exegesis. From 1978-1981 Dick published a trilogy of novels relating to these mystical events: VALIS (1978, VALIS referring to Dick's vision of the entity that he believed contacted him, or as he termed it, "Vast Active Living Intelligence System"), The Divine Invasion (1980), and The Transmigration of Timothy Archer (1981).

Dick died in March 1982 after suffering several strokes.

Name of creator


Administrative history

Tim Underwood and Chuck Miller formed the small press of Underwood-Miller in San Francisco, CA in 1976. Their first published work was Jack Vance's The Dying Earth, which had never before been published in hardcover. Eventually, the firm came to publish a number of Vance's works, both new and old. In addition to Vance, Underwood-Miller published fine small press books by a number of other noted science fiction and fantasy authors, including Philip K. Dick, Roger Zelazny, Harlan Ellison, Anne McCaffrey, Robert Silverberg, and Peter Straub. The press was notable in publishing in the hardcover form a number of works that had only appeared previously in paperback or in pulp magazines.

Underwood-Miller dissolved in 1994 resulting in Underwood Books and Charles F. Miller, publisher.

Content and structure elements

Scope and content

This collection consists of documents relating to the publication by the science fiction and fantasy small press Underwood-Miller, Inc., of a number of works by or relating to the noted science fiction author Philip K. Dick. The works Underwood-Miller published that are documented here include Dick's In Pursuit of VALIS: Selections from the Exegesis (1991), and the series The Selected Letters of Philip K. Dick.

Materials in the collection include correspondence, production documentation, galleys, typescripts, and photocopies of much of Dick's correspondence used in assembling the Selected Letters. Also included are a few media publications related to Dick and his work.

System of arrangement

This collection is arranged into the following series:

  • Series 1, In Pursuit of VALIS: Selections from the Exegesis. (1980-1992)
  • Series 2, The Selected Letters of Philip K. Dick. (1938-2017)
  • Series 3, Philip K. Dick - Photocopies of Related Publications. (1979-1993)
  • Series 4, Additional Philip K. Dick Materials. (1985)

Conditions of access and use elements

Conditions governing access

Physical access

Technical access

Conditions governing reproduction

Languages of the material

  • English

Scripts of the material

Language and script notes

Finding aids

Acquisition and appraisal elements

Custodial history

Immediate source of acquisition



Related materials elements

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related archival materials

Related descriptions

Notes element

Specialized notes

Alternative identifier(s)

Description control element

Rules or conventions

Sources used

Archivist's note

© Copyright 2019 Cushing Library. All rights reserved.

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Accession area

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places