Marshall Ryan Maresca Collection

Identity elements

Reference code

TxAM-CRS C000486

Name and location of repository

Level of description



Marshall Ryan Maresca Collection


  • 2005 - 2020 (Creation)


4 boxes

Name of creator


Biographical history

Marshall Ryan Maresca was born and raised in upstate New York, and attended Penn State, where he studied film production. He is a longtime resident of Austin, TX, where he has been writing science fiction and fantasy for a number of years. His first published work was the SF story "Jump the Black", which appeared in the 2013 Rick Klaw-edited anthology Rayguns Over Texas. In 2015 he published the first of his ongoing Maradaine series: The Thorn of Dentonhill, an urban fantasy of thieves and dashing rogues set in the lively city of Maradaine. Thorn was nominated for the 2016 Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel.

Since then, Maresca has continued to write a number of different series all set within the Maradaine universe: Maradaine, starring magic university student/Robin Hood-like vigilante Veranix Calbert; The Maradaine Constabulary, featuring detectives Satrine Rainey and Minox Welling, who solve crimes on Maradaine's mean streets; The Streets of Maradaine, about the Holver Alley Crew, a gang of misfit street criminals out to protect their homes and territory; and Maradaine Elite, featuring Dayne Heldrin and Jerinne Fendall, two members of an elite order of Maradaine soldiery enmeshed in crime and conspiracy. A new series, Maradaine Saga, was launched in 2022 with the release of the novella "The Mystical Murders of Yin Mara". A standalone Maradaine novel, An Unintended Voyage, was released in late 2021.

In early 2021, Maresca published a new standalone work, a 'dieselpunk' fantasy titled The Velocity of Revolution, set in the ravaged magical city of Ziaparr.

Content and structure elements

Scope and content

This collection consists of manuscripts and working files from Texas fantasy and science fiction writer Marshall Ryan Maresca, most well-known for his ongoing Maradaine series, which contains several sub-series of novels, all set in and around the fantastical city of Maradaine. Materials in the collections include drafts in various stages of many of his works, as well as proofs and working notes.

System of arrangement

Series I: Manuscripts. Arranged chronologically by date of publication.
Series II: Working Files.
Series III: Other Materials.

Conditions of access and use elements

Conditions governing access

No restrictions.

Physical access

These materials are stored offsite and require additional time for retrieval.

Technical access

No restrictions.

Conditions governing reproduction

Copyright is retained by the authors of items in these papers, or their descendants, as stipulated by United States copyright law.

Languages of the material

  • English

Scripts of the material

Language and script notes

Finding aids

Acquisition and appraisal elements

Custodial history

Immediate source of acquisition


Related materials elements

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related archival materials

Related descriptions

Notes element

Specialized notes

Alternative identifier(s)

Description control element

Rules or conventions

Sources used

Archivist's note

Processed by Jeremy Brett. Finding aid created by Jeremy Brett.

Access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Accession area

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places