Showing 2 results

Archival Descriptions
Andre Norton Award Collection
Print preview Hierarchy View:

Andre Norton Award Collection

  • US TxAM-C C000151
  • Collection
  • 1951-2002

This collection consists of numerous awards that noted science fiction and fantasy author Andre Norton was given over the course of her long and storied career.

Norton, Andre


Item 1: Boys’ Club of America Junior Book Award, for Bullard of the Space Patrol by Malcolm Jameson (edited by Norton), 1951.

Item 2: The Invisible Little Man Award, from the Elves’, Gnomes’ and Little Men’s Science Fiction, Chowder and Marching Society, 1963.

Item 3: Phoenix Award for Outstanding Achievement in Science Fiction and Fantasy, at DeepSouthCon XIII, 1975.

Item 4: J.R.R. Tolkien Memorial Award for Achievement in Fantasy (Grand Master), 1977.

Item 5: Norton Award, 1978.

Item 6: Balrog Award for Life Achievement in Fantasy, 1979.

Item 7: Career Achievement Award, Presented at Science Fiction Weekend, 1980.

Item 8: Ohioan Book Award (Martha Kinney Cooper Ohioana Library Award) for Juvenile Fiction, 1980.

Item 9: Ohio Women Hall of Fame Award, 1981.

Item 10: E.E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction, 1983.

Item 11: Jules Verne Award for Voyages Extraordinaires in the Literature and Art of Science Fiction and Fantasy, Sky Con 4, 1984.

Item 12: SFWA Grand Master Award, 1984.

Item 13: Second Stage Lensman Award, at Moscon IX, 1987.

Item 14: World Fantasy Award Convention’s Choice, 1987.

Item 15: E.E. Evans Big Heart Award, at 1988 Worldcon.

Item 16: Honorary Appointment as Officer on the starship U.S.S. Phoenix, 1988.

Item 17: Noreascon Three Guest of Honor, 1989.

Item 18: Science Fiction Book Club 1991 Book of the Year Award (for The Elvenbane, with Mercedes Lackey). [Broken – piece accompanies award]

Item 19: Award in recognition of service as a Judge of L. Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest, 1994.

Item 20: Scientifiction First Fandom Hall of Fame Award, 1994.

Item 21: Magic Carpet Con Award for Lifetime Achievement, 1997.

Item 22: Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame, 1997.

Item 23: World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement, 1998.

Item 24: Judge, L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future 15th Anniversary, 1999.

Item 25: Southeastern Science Fiction Achievement Award (SESFA) for Lifetime Achievement, 2002.

Item 26: Unidentified sash.